The 1888 Grapevine Cotton Belt Railroad Depot is one of Grapevine’s most important buildings. It was operated by the St. Louis Southwestern Railway (also known as the Cotton Belt Route) until 1972 when the station was closed. Through the efforts of the Grapevine Garden Club, the Depot was saved from demolition and moved to Heritage Park at Ball and Wall Streets, where it remained for 20 years. In 1972, the Grapevine Historical Society was organized to utilize the Depot building for a new museum to preserve Grapevine’s unique history and heritage. Twenty years later, the Depot and the Grapevine Historical Museum moved back to Main Street near the railroad tracks on land that is now called the Heritage Center. The Depot is the ticketing site of the Grapevine Vintage Railroad. Several historic buildings with historical markers and several well-known artists offering demonstrations and classes are located on the Heritage Center property.